The Invitation is the type of horror that hits too close to home for me: a bunch of friends at a dinner party having awkard conversation. Add in a cult and I couldn’t watch it more than a few minutes in for a the longest time. Thanks to #FridayNightHorror with Graveyard Sisters though I had virtual company to make it through the movie.

Spoilers follow.

A solid suspenseful movie with stressful conversations, the main character’s intuition freaking out while those around him say nothing’s wrong, flashbacks to deep sorrow, and a really creepy cult. The framing and lighting, the visuals on this movie were stunning, the pacing steady, the premise horrifyingly possible.

I’m really glad I finally made it through. The image of two bloody hands clasped is one of the more beautiful horror film endings in part because of the build up.

